Turning 29

Last week I celebrated my 29th birthday. I find that as I get older, each birthday becomes a little bit more bitter and less sweet. I have cried at least once on at least my last 3 birthdays and 29 was no different. Don’t get my wrong, I am not scared of getting older, or turning 30. I am actually excited to turn 30. I swear! Its going to be really great for a birthday to have a big number attached, to enter a new decade. I haven’t had that since I turned 21, and let’s face it, who actually remembers turning 21? My 21st birthday started with the brilliant idea of keeping a tally of my shots on my forearm and ended with me hugging the toilet at Central Bar. I hope to keep 30 a little bit classier. More than the “big number,” though, it is only in the last year that I feel I have actually come in to my own. That’s why I’m starting this blog at the beginning of my 29th year.

I have always wanted to be a writer. I even applied to grad school for creative writing after college. I got rejected from all of the schools I applied to and somehow to me, that translated that I couldn’t be a writer I started second guessing every idea that I had and never actually put pen to paper (finger to keyboard?) and wrote anything again for about 7 years. After my 29th birthday I went on vacation. All I could think about on vacation was this blog. How there are so many stories I want to tell, so much I have to say about life, and how amazing it is that, in this day and age, I don’t need an admissions office to tell me whether or not I’m good enough to tell the stories. All I need is a place that people can find my words.

I’ve blogged before, as my friends know, mostly about food and cooking. I tried to pigeon hole myself before I even started, once again believing that I wasn’t good enough to write about anything else. I think that’s why I gave up on those blogs. I limited myself. Here I plan to not limit myself. I plan to share my thoughts on life, love, food, and anything else that comes to my mind. I hope that you’ll stick around and follow me through my journey. Let’s see where this one takes me…

5 thoughts on “Turning 29

  1. Pingback: Being the Youngest to Being a Grown Up « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

  2. Pingback: Traveling is the Worst (or, I’m the Worst Traveler) « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

  3. Pingback: Think well. Love well. Dine well.

  4. Pingback: I’m Not a Teenager Anymore: Stop Thinking I am « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

  5. Pingback: Self-Doubt is the WORST | Think well. Love well. Dine well.

Leave a Reply

