Open Letter to Female Celebrities: Be Honest

Dear Female Celebrities,

I would like to make a request for a little bit of honesty. I am a woman who has spent my entire life looking at the beautiful photos of you in magazines and wishing that I could one day look like you. This is not something I am proud of, I wish I could have been more accepting of myself at a younger age, but I don’t think that there is a single woman out there who hasn’t wished the same thing.

So here’s what I would like from you and the industry that brings us these unrealistic images of women. Be honest. I hate that every magazine interview with a famous actress or model starts with a description of your meal. There is no mention of the fact that maybe you’ve been on a juice cleanse for the last 3-7 days in preparation for this interview and photo shoot. Or maybe you just came from a marathon 2 hour session with your personal trainer that you will repeat tomorrow and the day after as well. Or, maybe you are 18 years old and your metabolism simply hasn’t caught up with you yet. Finally, maybe you are in fact just genetically blessed. All of these things are totally fair, but please tell us about them.

Clearly it is part of your job description to look a certain way. I don’t know if you’re contractually obligated for real (and if you are, I’m sorry. There are so many things wrong with that), but it is expected that you will maintain your “look.” Isn’t that why you might hire private chefs to cook your meals and personal trainers to come to your house 7 days a week? I might look like an actress/model too if I had that kind of access. Again, why can’t you tell us about these things? Instead, we are made to believe that you roll out of bed looking gorgeous. That there was no preparation to get you looking “effortlessly beautiful.” Just level with me, people. I promise I can handle it.

When I went to see the taping of Good Afternoon America, Tyra Banks was on the show. Tyra and Lara Spencer both talked about how women should love themselves for who they are and how they look. I have to say I was a little bit infuriated that these stunning women (and they both are stunning in person) had the nerve to tell us to love ourselves when clearly they are working very hard to look the way that they do. Let me tell you something, Tyra ain’t no “real woman.” She is still a supermodel, and I’m not going to take that away from her because she most certainly works hard for it.

Obviously I can’t really know what goes on in all of your lives, but what I do know is that I work incredibly hard to maintain the way that I look. I work out 4-5 days a week, I cook all my own meals, I watch every bite that goes into my mouth and I’m not even stick thin with 6-pack abs. I look like a real woman. I have breasts, and soft curves instead of sharp angles. In the past, I have been super skinny and I know what it takes to get there and maintain it. It involves a lot of steamed vegetables, salads with little to no dressing, and flavorless chicken breast. I have to believe that you women in the spotlight are doing a lot of the same things that I am doing, but to much more of an extreme, and you have help. I don’t know if your diet is the same as in the “How to Lose 10 Pounds in 2 Weeks” articles that we are overwhelmed with. The point is, I wish I did. If Jennifer Aniston eats salad and broiled chicken breast every day except for when she sits down with a reporter, for God’s sake tell me about it.

In the end, I know it is the industry that is terrible and placing a lot of unrealistic expectations on you. I’m sure it is hard to be in your position, and I don’t say that sarcastically. All I’m asking is that you let us in, for real. Help us understand what its like to be you. Maybe we can all come together to change this “ideal” so that none of us, famous or not, have to work so hard to be something that no one can ever really be.

Sincerely,

Lara

Read more about Celebrities here: Stars! They Really are Just Like Us and My Heart Breaks for Kate Middleton and That Time I Almost Made my TV Debut

12 thoughts on “Open Letter to Female Celebrities: Be Honest

  1. This is making me think of those two Kim Kardashian photos floating around the internet. One is photo shopped, the other isn’t. It’s pretty shocking.

  2. As a skinny person who is so due to a combination of genetics and illness, this is wonderful. I get so irritated when I run into people I haven’t seem for a long time and they’re all “Oh you’ve lost so much weight! You look great!” No, I don’t. I’m chronically ill and currently underweight. But because I’m “skinny” I’m “hot”. (Im not anorexic looking, but since I’m almost 5’8″ I need to gain AT LEAST 5 pounds, preferably 10). At this point i would be much happier to be 20-30 pounds heavier, and HEALTHY. But I have little control over it. My point is, each woman has a story as to why her body looks the way she does. And this article puts it so eloquently. I’m going to share it with all my friends and encourage others to do so as well.

  3. Everything you said is so true and right on! It is hard to look at those images everyday and not compare ourselves. But, I’m not willing to eat plain chicken and salad, so I’m never going to look like them. I also can’t afford a cook or a personal trainer. But I eat healthy and workout. Maybe it would be easier for us regular women to love and accept ourselves as we are if famous women would be more honest with us. Thank you for a great post! I hope some famous women read it.

  4. This is such a great post!! I’m with you in that I workout 3-5 days a week and watch what I eat but I also have a “real” job. Unlike celebrities who are paid to maintain the way the look, I don’t get that luxury so I have to fit my workouts in when I’m not at the office. I wish that celebrites would just admit to the fact that they look the way they do because part of their job requirements are to be in the gym or with a personal trainer and to hire a personal chef to make sure they eat the exact right stuff. Thanks again for the great post!!

  5. Why do you feel its our right to be privy to celebrity beauty secrets or line item disclosures of daily regiments? It’s pretty obvious that women & men of celebrity status hold themselves to a disciplined regiment and if that comes with the price tag of personal trainers, chefs, spas, fasts & fads, that’s their business. It has nothing to do with how that individual sees him or herself. The exterior finish may reflect perfection but that’s only half the battle & by comparing ourselves to anyone, be they celebs, or the girl next door, we’re buying into & promoting the very self effacing beauty myth you are rejecting.
    The day women stop aspiring to some artificial construct, is the day we set our own definition & expression of beauty. We really don’t need to make ourselves feel better by unearthing others’ beauty secrets do we????

  6. Pingback: My Nail Polish Made Me Do It « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

  7. Pingback: My Heart Breaks for Kate Middleton « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

  8. Pingback: Stars! They Really are Just Like Us « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

  9. Pingback: Weight Watchers, Stop Shaming Jessica Simpson « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

  10. Pingback: When Did You Decide You Were Fat? (By the Way, You’re Not) « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

  11. Pingback: Happy New Year: I’m on a Diet « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

  12. Pingback: The Novel is Gone (At Least, for the Next Three Weeks) « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

Leave a Reply

