Turkey Bacon Biscuit BLTs

20120917-162628.jpg
One of the first things that they tell you in Weight Watchers is that you should never go to the grocery store when you’re hungry because you’ll make unhealthy food choices. For me, I have no problem going to the grocery store when I’m hungry. My problem is going to the grocery store when I’m sad, like I did this morning.

I went to pilates today for the first time in over a week. I threw my back out last weekend and was finally cleared to workout again today. I figured an easy pilates class would be a good way to re-enter the fitness world. Sadly, not so much. I spent all summer working towards being able to touch my toes (and finally succeeding!) only to go this morning and barely be able to do the equivalent of a crunch. After spending the second half of class super frustrated and on the verge of tears, I decided that, to make myself feel better, I was going to go home and bake. Not only bake, I was going to cook myself lunch.

I recently started subscribing to Tasting Table, an online newsletter. One day last week they sent me a recipe for light-as-air biscuits that I was absolutely dying to make. Paired with the fact that one of my coworkers gave my a jar of homemade peach preserves that is currently in my fridge, I decided that today was the day to make the biscuits. And that’s where the crazy started. Here is what happens to me when I’m sad, when I decide I want to cook to make myself feel better, and when I go to the grocery store.

I give you the inside of my mind:

“I’m going to make those Tasting Table biscuits for the peach preserves. Ooh! You know what would go really well with peach and biscuits: Duck Bacon. Like in Ted Allen’s book with the seared duck and peach compote. Yum! I wonder where you get duck bacon. Too bad the farmer’s market isn’t open on Mondays, they have great duck bacon. Whatever, I’ll just go to Union Market and use turkey bacon instead. [At Union Market] OMG! They have duck bacon! But it’s $12… Turkey bacon is only $5… But I’m sad and frustrated… I’ll treat myself to the fancy duck bacon. [Goes to register with duck bacon] Am I insane? $12 for half a pound of duck bacon. Walk away, Lara. Turkey bacon will do just fine. [Puts duck bacon down, buys turkey bacon instead]. Maybe instead of turkey bacon with peach preserves I should make a turkey bacon BLT on a biscuit. That would be really good. I should get some Boston lettuce. That’s the best kind for BLTs. Too bad I just left Union Market. I’ll just stop at the other grocery store on my way home, because I’m pretty sure I’m almost out of flour too…”

And on and on…

I hope you enjoyed this extra-special glimpse into my crazy.

Ultimately, The biscuits were totally worth it and I especially love a recipe that allows me to dig in and get my hands and counter dirty. They were light and flaky and made me feel as successful as pilates had made me feel like a failure. My first foray into the world of turkey bacon was great too. It wasn’t as crispy or smoky as regular bacon, but definitely stood up as a healthy substitute.

Hopefully my next pilates class will be better than today, but until then, Turkey Bacon Biscuit BLTs will have to be enough.

More Recipes Here: Brunch vs. Dinner: My Trials and Tribulations and Book Review: Apron Anxiety (and a Mac ‘n’ Cheese Recipe)

Turkey Bacon Biscuit BLTs

For the biscuit (Taken from Carrie Mashaney’s Sous Chef Series profile on Tasting Table)

1 1/2 sticks cold unsalted butter cut into 1/2 cubes
3 cups flour (plus more for rolling)
1 Tablespoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoons granulated sugar
1 1/2 cups buttermilk
2 Tablespoons melted butter

Preheat the oven to 450°. Put the unsalted butter on a small plate and in the freezer for 15 minutes.

Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and sugar in a large metal bowl. Place the metal bowl in the freezer for 15 minutes.

After 15 minutes, remove the butter and flour mixture from the freezer and use your fingers to pinch the butter into the flour, working quickly, until most of the butter is worked in and there is a variety of small and large pieces of butter within the flour mixture. (This requires some elbow grease since the butter is frozen solid).

Make a well in the center of the flour and butter mixture and pour 1 1/4 cup buttermilk into the well. Mix with a wooden spoon until the dough gets too hard to stir and then gently toss and turn it with your hands until just a few dry spots remain, drizzling in the last 1/4 of buttermilk as needed.

Sprinkle a cutting board (or your counter) with all purpose flour.

Turn the dough out onto the floured board and press it into a rough rectangle shape. Lightly flour the top and use a rolling pin to roll it into a 12-inch by 14-inch rectangle that’s about ½-inch thick. Fold the dough into thirds like a business letter. Turn the dough so the long edge is parallel to the long side of the cutting board. Roll the dough into a ½-inch thick rectangle and repeat the folding. Roll again, this time rolling the dough only slightly into a 10-inch by 12-inch rectangle about 1-inch thick. Use a 3-inch biscuit cutter to cut out as many biscuits as you can (you can gently push the dough back together and flatten it by hand, then cut out more biscuits. Discard the remaining dough. Place the biscuits on a nonstick baking sheet (or a parchment paper-lined baking sheet) and refrigerate for 10 minutes.

Remove the biscuits from the refrigerator and use a pastry brush to coat the tops with the melted butter.

Place the biscuits in the oven and immediately reduce the heat to 425°. Bake until golden brown on top, about 15 minutes, rotating the baking sheet midway through baking. Remove from the oven and use the metal spatula to transfer the biscuits to a wire rack to cool.

For the Turkey Bacon

Lightly coat a non-stick pan with olive oil or cooking spray on medium to medium high heat. When the pan is hot, add your turkey bacon, turning it every minute or two until it is at your desired color and crispiness.

Assemble your Sandwiches

Slice open your biscuit and spread mayo on each side. Sprinkle with a little salt and pepper. Top with lettuce, then a slice of tomato, then the bacon. Close your sandwich and enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Turkey Bacon Biscuit BLTs

  1. Pingback: My Nail Polish Made Me Do It « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

  2. Pingback: Confessions of a Zumba Addict « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

  3. Pingback: Don’t Judge the Chopped Judges « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

  4. Pingback: Why I Never Stole Cookies from the Cookie Jar « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

  5. Pingback: Brunch vs. Dinner: My Trials and Tribulations « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

  6. Pingback: Risotto: My Everest « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

  7. Pingback: How to Lose an Evening Making Pot Pies « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

Leave a Reply

