Stars! They Really are Just Like Us

20120923-173736.jpg
Last night my husband and I went to a fundraiser for Alex’s Lemonade Stand, which raises money for pediatric cancer research. The reason we went is because the event was run by a former contestant of The Bachelor, Graham Bunn, and a lot of former cast members were going to be at the event. Now, I’m not proud of the fact that I watch (and love ::cringe::) The Bachelor, The Bachelorette, and Bachelor Pad, but it is what it is. Also, with the advent of Twitter, watching the show isn’t about just watching the show, its about the conversation. When any of those three shows are on there is a whole community on Twitter that I interact with. Most of the people I follow are former contestants (and Jennifer Weiner!), so it feels like I’m actually talking to them about their experience and their perspective on the show. For the most part, I’m not really talking to them. I’m sending 140 character ideas into the universe and putting their twitter handles somewhere in there. But, like I’ve said before, twitter creates a false sense of intimacy and friendship which is definitely a double-edged sword.

So last night, I set out to meet Marissa May, Ashley Spivey, and William Holman. They are all former cast members from The Bachelor and The Bachelorette and they are the most active on Twitter during the seasons. I feel like I have talked to all of them and know them already, but Marissa especially because she and I seem to have a similar sense of humor about the show and tweet pretty much the same things at the same times. Anyway, I knew that they were going to be at the concert last night which is why we went (Guiney and Grimes performed and were AWESOME. Bob Guiney was The Bachelor, but really his music is way more memorable). I spotted Marissa, Ashley, and William as soon as we got there and decided I couldn’t be chicken about it, I just had to go say hi. And I did.

I apologized for bothering them and they assured me I was not. I told them how I wanted to introduce myself because I feel like I know them because of twitter. When I told them my handle (LarainBK! Follow me there!) Marissa and Ashley both said that they remembered me. They were very nice and I was happy I was able to talk to them, even if it was just “omg! I know you from twitter!” Same with William, who seemed pleased that someone out there is enjoying his fake spoilers (seriously, guys, he’s hilarious). Then I left, not wanting to awkwardly stand over them trying to get in on their conversation. I definitely enjoyed meeting them and hope that we can continue to chat on twitter in a more meaningful way (is there such a thing?).

The thing is, I have to remember when I mean famous people, that they are just people. And honestly, former Bachelor and Bachelorette contestants are more “known and recognized” than they are “famous.” With women like Ashley and Marissa, I feel like in another life, under different circumstances, we might be friends. They don’t seem that different from me, they just spent a few months filming a reality show. They’re around my age, Ashley even lives in my city, so I wonder why I think of myself as so different from them? Usually when I’m around famous, or “known,” people I get really excited, and bug-eyed, and probably a little bit creepy. Who knows how I came off last night? I hope I wasn’t too weird. The bottom line is, if I feel a connection to someone from afar, I have to believe that I am equal enough to them to make that connection a reality.

That said, I had a great time being around all the cast members last night. I had a blast seeing them just enjoying themselves and each other’s company and chatting with them at the bar and things like that. I definitely consider the evening an overall success, but it gave me some stuff to think about for next time I am in a room full of people who found fame on reality tv.

Read more about Celebrity here: My Heart Breaks for Kate Middleton and Open Letter to Female Celebrities: Be Honest

 

20120923-173943.jpg
Me, in an Ashley Sandwich: Ashley Spivey and Ashley Hebert
Photo at top: From Left: Me, Marissa May, Michelle Money, William Holman

 

7 thoughts on “Stars! They Really are Just Like Us

  1. Pingback: It’s My Super Bowl: Fall TV Premiere Week « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

  2. Pingback: Open Letter to Female Celebrities: Be Honest « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

  3. Pingback: That Time I Almost Made My TV Debut « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

  4. Pingback: My Heart Breaks for Kate Middleton « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

  5. Pingback: Anna Kendrick and Skylar Astin: I Knew You When… « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

  6. Pingback: What’s the Point of the Tabloids? « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

  7. Pingback: The Bachelor Recap: Why Are We Still Watching? « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

Leave a Reply

