NaNoWriMo Ate My Soul

(Note: NaNoWriMo Ate My Soul is the name of a forum message board on the NaNoWriMo website that I think is hilarious, hence the title).

As I mentioned, I’m writing a novel. More than writing a novel, I’m participating in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). We are almost at the half way point and I am more than half way through my 50,000 word novel (30,452 words to be exact). I am crazy proud of myself for getting this far. My story is very much on track and I am completely in a place where I will win NaNoWriMo. Even though all that winning means is that I get the satisfaction of having written a full novel in a month, I think that’s a pretty good prize.

The good news about my novel is this: it is not a total piece of crap. Granted I haven’t read it in a while and am just adding on as I go, but I am proud of the story. I think I have something unique that a lot of young adult books don’t have. I’m writing about friendship. I didn’t know I was writing about friendship until last night, but my book is about friendship. I thought it was going to be a romance, and there still are romantic will-they-won’t-they elements, but the romance has become secondary. My book is about a girl discovering herself and figuring out what she deserves from the people around her. I said that the novel was based on me and an experience I had, but it’s really not anymore.

What has been really interesting though was to go through my old journals and photo albums for inspiration. To see where I struggled and what feelings I repressed when I was younger. I tried not to feel a lot of stuff because feeling was too hard, instead I focused on things that were trivial and silly, like the lives of my friends. So where I hoped my journals would be the key to unlocking who I was as a teenager, I found a lot about who my friends were as teenagers. I guess that in itself was interesting, but it turns out I really was not present in my own life. I’m trying to make my character more present.

I don’t know if this post makes any sense. My brain is feeling a bit fried from all the wrimo-ing. My word counter says I will be done with my book by November 21st so I will return to you all then in full force. Until then, bare with me and my nonsensicalness until November is over.

5 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Ate My Soul

  1. Pingback: The Perfect Thanksgiving Hostess Gift « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

  2. Pingback: Do You Still Know All the Words to Rent? « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

  3. Pingback: The Novel is Gone (At Least, for the Next Three Weeks) « Think well. Love well. Dine well.

  4. Pingback: Plush Velvet Sometimes, I’ve Seen Them All and My Dear… | Think well. Love well. Dine well.

  5. Pingback: I’m Back! (and I brought scones!) | Think well. Love well. Dine well.

Leave a Reply

