Happy New Year: I’m on a Diet

I’ve spent a lot of time since I started this blog talking about being okay with the shape of my body. Talking about how, this is the first time in my life that I’m actually okay with my few extra pounds and am not going to worry about them just so I can fit into a size four again. But, what December has shown me, is that there is a line between embracing those five extra pounds, and needing to lose five (or ten) pounds. So I’m taking responsibility for my weight. I’m not going to hide behind my struggles from the past, I’m not going to view this diet as a punishment, I am simply trying to lose a few extra pounds.

Dieting for me is scary because it brings up all kinds of memories of past diets and obsessions with weight loss. I do believe that I’m in a good place now though, because I know that I am in control, not the diet. I know how to change my eating habits, I know that I will work out, and I know what works for my body. I’m going to try really hard to not get lost in the self-loathing that dieting usually brings up for me. Also, though, I know that I am making a personal choice. This is not guided by the skinny celebrities who I want to look like (and will never be able to), this is just about me and my personal choice.

So what does my “new years diet” look like? Its something that would have worked really well on the Weight Watchers Momentum plan, which I absolutely loved and then they discontinued for a new program that doesn’t work (for me) at all. I’ve been trying to identify what it is about certain food that appeal to me so that I can try and replicate those textures or ideas in my diet. That way, I won’t feel deprived. Like for breakfast, if I have a bowl of Cinnamon Chex, what is the appeal? Is it the cinnamon and sugar flavoring? Is it the crunch? If I have a sandwich with two slices of bread for lunch, is it the softness of the bread? Is it the turkey or chicken in the sandwich? Is there anything I’m lacking in the way I usually eat? I’ve come up with a plan in my mind for how I’m going to emphasize the aspects of my meals that I love, in a less caloric way.

Breakfast (I’m pretty sure its the sweetness of the cereal that is appealing to me):
Was: Cinnamon Chex with Skim Milk (a lot of cinnamon chex)
Now: Oatmeal with Cinnamon and Sugar (or peanut butter and honey, or maple syrup and brown sugar)

Lunch (needs something warm and very filling because I don’t like to snack in the afternoon, which I’ll do if I’m not full from lunch):
Was: A turkey or chicken sandwich with mayo and sometimes lettuce.
Now: Soup that I’m hoping to make every weekend. This week is Kale and Quinoa soup. It’s my cleanse soup.

Dinner (I like something hearty that makes me feel like the meal is “productive”):
Was: Pasta or Chicken something.
Now: Trying to avoid pasta at least for a couple of weeks. I made chicken with 40 (17) cloves of garlic last night which I absolutely loved and a salad with spinach and mushrooms. I’m going to try and emphasize the protein over the carbs. Also, instead of frozen yogurt for dessert, I’m having dark chocolate because it is a necessity that I have something sweet after dinner.

I feel good about this diet, like its something I can stick to. I also, don’t plan to be on it more than a couple of months. I’m not going to weigh myself because it makes me feel like I’m in competition, which I don’t want. I’m just going to see how I feel as I’m going through it. Weight on the scale is just a number, I’m more concerned with how tight I’m pulling my belt.

Kale and Quinoa Soup (The New Years Cleanse Soup)

Adapted From: Enlightened Cooking

Makes 6 big servings

1 tbsp olive oil
1-1/4 cups chopped leeks
1 cups chopped carrots (about 1 medium carrot)
1 cup chopped celery (about 2 large stalks)
4 cloves garlic, minced or pressed
8 cups prewashed and cut kale
1 14.5-oz can diced tomatoes, undrained
2/3 cup quinoa
8 cups reduced-sodium chicken broth
1 large potato
1 tsp basil (dried)
1 tsp oregano (dried)
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

1. Heat oil in a large heavy pot over medium-high heat until hot. Add onion, carrots, celery and garlic. Cook and stir 5 minutes. Add kale and cook and stir 1 minute.
2. Add the tomatoes with juice, quinoa, broth, potato, and herbs and simmer, uncovered, stirring occasionally, until quinoa is cooked, about 20 minutes.

One thought on “Happy New Year: I’m on a Diet

  1. Well said. I think that you should embrace who you are but also consciously know when you have to re-group and get your eating back in check. Sometimes also eating the wrong combinations of foods and not eating enough greens an make you feel bloated and uncomfortable.
    Giving your body a moment to back to the basics and eating healthy can kickstart any weight loss.
    Happy New Years. Best of luck.
    From mythineats

Leave a Reply

