What a Difference a Year Makes…

On New Year’s Eve last year, I was leaving a party early to go home and sleep (because I was, like, 24 weeks pregnant).  The year before that, I was watching fireworks on a roof deck in Park Slope.  To celebrate the new millennium, I spent three days with 20 friends in an apartment in Long Beach.   The first New Year’s Eve that Evan and I spent together was on the Brooklyn Bridge waiting for fireworks that never started, but we didn’t care.  I’ve celebrated some pretty epic new year’s eves, but the thing that’s always stayed constant is that December 31 is  a great excuse to get together with all of my favorite people and be reminded of how much love there is in my life.

Last night was no different.  I mean, it was completely different in that I didn’t leave the apartment and was in my pajamas at 7:30.  But, oh! The love!  I got to play with my wiggly little one, read him “One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish” and remember how much I love that book.  I watched him eat carrots and spinach and enjoy every bite.  Evan and I had a lunch date, which didn’t stop us from popping a(nother) bottle of sparkling rose and toasting the new year (at 9:30).  I didn’t see the ball drop, but I did get to sleep until 6:30 this morning, and that in itself is cause for celebration.

2015 was a truly unforgettable year.  I gave birth to a child.  Six months ago he was just 8 pounds and now he’s probably closer to 20.  He can sit up and play with toys, and smile when Evan or I come into the room.  He can roll over and reach for things.  He’s a real, tiny person.  He continues to astound me every day.

I’m excited for 2016.  I’m excited to see the little boy that Asher is going to become.  I’m excited to continue writing and see where that takes me.  I’m going to perform Fangirl again!  This summer, I’m going to teach my own class and maybe even build a small education business (way to bury the lede, amirite?).  There are big things ahead here, folks!

So where we you last year? Are you where you thought you’d be at the start of 2016? And, did you know that you can have my posts delivered directly to your inbox? Just check out the top right corner and share your email address!

IMG_3698

Who wouldn’t want to spend New Year’s Eve with this face?

Leave a Reply

